Kimberley Open Mine Museum

Kimberley Open Mine Museum

On the west side of the Big Hole is the open-air Kimberley Mine Museum, a village of almost 50 buildings, some original and some reproductions, representing Kimberley during the diamond rush days.

Visitors can tour some of the houses, which are furnished in the style of the time. Other houses, shops, and workshops line a cobbled street and the Mining Hall displays a collection of photographs and documents from diamond rush days. Opposite is the Diamond Hall, with a 616-carat diamond, one of the largest uncut diamonds in the world, and the Eureka, the first diamond discovered in South Africa. A restored tramcar from 1913 carries visitors between the Neoclassical City Hall (circa 1899) and the Big Hole and museum.

Date: Daily

Time: 8am to 5pm

Venue address: Tucker Street, Kimberley

View map

Wheelchair accessibility: Unknown


Tel: 053 839 4600